Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
Cong Trihn

Mission Statement

The Science Alliance. a Tennessee Center of Excellence, was established in 1984 to improve selected science programs at The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and to increase collaboration between the university and Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL).

The Science Alliance is composed of four divisions: the original three being Biological Sciences, Chemical Sciences, and Physical Sciences. A fourth division, Mathematics and Computer Science, was added in 1986.

Science Alliance objectives:

  • Create a strong formal bond between UT and ORNL
  • Hire joint UT-ORNL distinguished scientists
  • Create joint UT-ORNL institutions
  • Share resources and build areas of common strength at UT and ORNL as well as with industry and other institutions
  • Contribute to technology transfer
  • Provide incentives to attract and retain high-quality faculty
  • Strengthen graduate and undergraduate opportunities
  • Increase public and professional awareness of UT-ORNL partnerships